I finally completed this vanity project!

I answered a kijiji ad some time ago (last October!) for a vanity. Was thrilled to see in person and promptly bought it for $50. I bought my first can of Annie Sloan’s Chalk Paint in Red (of course! 🙂 ), aka Emperor’s Silk from Tin Barn Market in Almonte. One of my most favourite stores in the Ottawa and surrounding area. I also bought knobs to really jazz the piece up.

A couple of weeks ago, I finally just took the time, prepped the piece (easy as a good cleaning) and started painting.

This was my first time using this paint and I have to say I LOVE IT! So easy to use. I did do 2 coats as I wanted the piece to be nice and red. I did do some distressing, just a bit on the edges and to bring out some of the details. Next day I waxed the piece, let it dry, then added some sparkle with the knobs.

In my stash of stuff that is “some day” projects, I found this mirror frame. My friend gave me this as she decided wasn’t going to do anything with it after all and just wanted it out of her house. As sometimes happens, I did not take a before shot as I just jumped in with paint and brush.

Vanity-10Vanity-9

This piece I simply cleaned up and then applied one coat of the red chalk paint. I wanted it to look a bit different and it seemed to look really good after the one coat and well … less work too! Again a bit of distressing in form of sanding some edges and done! I am SO pleased with how this has turned out! Next is a chair! Back to that “some day” pile … well, honestly I have a separate old chair stash … possibly an old chair addiction … Hmmm … Tell ya more in another post.

